## Minutes of Lib Dems Overseas AGM – 5 November 2023 1pm GMT

## Attendees:

Caroline Padbury (Outgoing Chair); Terence Champion (Vice Chair); John Shardlow (Secretary); George Cunningham (Data Protection Officer); Nick Lord (Treasurer); Bruce Darrington (Membership Development Officer); Colin Bloodworth; Merlene Emerson; Victoria Bateman; Stephen Yolland; Edward Vickers; Christopher; David Sapiro; Hauwa Usman; Andrew Muir; Vince Thompson

## **Apologies:**

Prof. Michael Miller

## Minutes:

Caroline started the meeting after brief introductions from Edward Vickers and Stephen Yolland ("Yolly").

Previous AGM minutes to be approved via email.

Chair's report by Caroline can be seen at:

https://www.libdemsoverseas.com/about-us/chairs-report-to-agm-2023.

Treasurer's Report by Nick. Positive balance of £1497.54 due to termination of Nationbuilder and small increase in income from membership. Discussions around opening a UK Bank account with individual donations up to £400 allowed by Party President Mark Pack.

Approval of accounts will occur when we have our own bank account.

The Lib Dems Abroad report was discussed. Caroline asked for approval of a text that continues the work of its steering committee. The following text was approved.

"Liberal Democrats Overseas local party acknowledges and thanks The Liberal Democrats Abroad Steering committee for its work in the two areas of overseas voter engagement and incorporating abroad members into Federal Party structures, as described in the report from its working group and detailed in the briefing presented at this AGM.

It is agreed that the Steering Committee should continue this important work to deliver the objectives outlined in its mandate and report progress at the latest to the next Annual General Meetings of the LDA local parties."

Motions to AGM. George raised a motion of thanks to Caroline as outgoing Chair.

David Sapiro, the Returning Officer, gave his report on the election of the new 2024 LDO executive.

I confirm the following elected un-opposed:

<u>Post</u> <u>Nominee</u>

Chair Bruce Darrington

Vice-Chair George Cunningham

Treasurer Nick Lord

Secretary John Shardlow

Membership-Officer Terence Champion

Ordinary Member Christopher

Ordinary Member Colin Bloodworth

Ordinary Member Victoria Bateman

Ordinary Member Richard Latham

Ordinary Member Caroline Padbury

Ordinary Member Andrew Muir

Ordinary Member Vince Thompson

Ordinary Member Steve Yolland

And

Co-opted Ordinary Member Hauwa Usman with special responsibility for Diversity.

George thanked David for acting as returning officer.

The AGM was concluded.